Skip to content

Who's Who

DBE Staff

Canon Carolyn Lewis, Diocesan Director of Education carolyn.lewis@derby.anglican.org

  • Communicates and supports the diocese’s vision for children and young people through a range of partnerships
  • Supports church schools to stand confidently at the heart of the church’s mission to children and families across Derby and Derbyshire
  • Challenges and supports church schools to recruit high quality leaders and deliver highly effective provision for the children and young people they serve
  • Acts as a strategic partner and provider with Local Authorities (LAs), Teaching School Alliances, the Regional Schools Commissioner, the Department for Education and the Church of England Education Office
  • Develops closer working relationships between the DBE and other diocesan boards, committees and agencies
  • Advises the Bishop on educational matters from General Synod, the Church of England Education Office, Department for Education and Local Authorities
  • Deals with all issues regarding academies, including initial advice for governing bodies
  • Works with Regional Schools Commissioner regarding conversion to academy status and conversion through the sponsored route
  • Represents the DBE as a member for all academy trusts

Liz Seymour, Deputy Director of Education liz.seymour@derby.anglican.org 

Jason Aldridge, Senior Business & Operations Manager jason.aldridge@derby.anglican.org

Sarah Brown, Children’s Adviser sarah.brown@derby.anglican.org

Lindsey Bowe, Executive Assistant lindsey.bowe@derby.anglican.org

Jonathan Warren, Associate Buildings Officer jwarren@ymdboon.co.uk

  • Undertakes the role of diocesan surveyors to the DBE for church school buildings
  • Advises schools on land and buildings matters on behalf of the DBE
  • Represents the DDE with a range of stakeholders concerned with maintaining and improving church school buildings
  • Develops and sustains a cohesive building improvement strategy in liaison with the DDE
  • Provides training and briefings for church schools as needs are identified
  • Liaises with LAs on behalf of the DBE and in support of the DDE

Advice, Guidance & Support

Derby Diocesan Board of Education (DBE) provides statutory functions and advice to the governing bodies of our 111 church schools.

We advise governing bodies of schools regarding the planning of their sites, religious education and worship, leadership and management, particularly in relation to school improvement, and the appointment of senior leaders and governors. We advise voluntary aided schools on land and buildings issues.  We also advise governing bodies on our Academisation Policy.

Click the button below to download Derby DBE guidance for headteachers, governors and clergy in church schools and academies.

We hope you find what you are looking for here – if not, please email officedbe@derby.anglican.org or telephone 01332 388660 and we will be happy to help with your query.

Sign up to our Newsletter

WE PROMISE TO NEVER SPAM YOUR INBOX